Standing on Their Shoulders: Unsung Women of the Civil Rights Movement

January 27, 2021
Standing on Their Shoulders: Unsung Women of Civil Rights
Ohio

4:30 – 6:00pm ET
3:30 – 5:00pm CT
2:30 – 4:00pm MT
1:30 – 3:00pm PT

Find details on how to register or pay for Facing History professional development, payment options, help with costs, refunds, and the Facing History Educator Network.

Details
Course Type:
Workshop
Event Fee:
$25.00
Registration Fee:
$5.00

Standing on Their Shoulders: Unsung Women of the Civil Rights Movement

Following the historic election of our nation’s first female Vice President, this workshop will provide the opportunity to examine the impact of women like Ella Baker, Fannie Lou Hamer, and Constance Baker Motley, whose contributions to the battle for Civil Rights Movement have not always been recognized.

We will introduce participants to Facing History and Ourselves’ resources and model teaching strategies that will give teachers tools for their classroom to help students look at key moments in the struggle for democracy and human rights in United States history.

This workshop is intended for educators in Ohio and surrounding states.

In this workshop you will:

  1. Get hands-on experience with Facing History and Ourselves’ pedagogical approach.
  2. Engage in classroom strategies and activities that aid in having critical conversations about historical inequities and race in American History.

After this workshop you will become part of the Facing History educator network, with access to a rich slate of educator resources, including unit and lesson plans, study guides, and multimedia.

Workshop is 4:30 - 6:00pm (ET). This workshop will be held via Zoom. Details for joining the Zoom meeting will be shared by email prior to the event.

Online
January 27, 2021
4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

Search Our Global Collection

Everything you need to get started teaching your students about racism, antisemitism and prejudice.